Thomas Haas Fine Chocolates & Pattiserie

 IMG_2801

Last Visited: December 10, 2013
Address: 2539 W. Broadway
City: Vancouver

I was mad craving desserts, so J and I decided to go on a quick date before he left for vacation. We carefully chose Thomas Haas after about an hour of deliberation on Urbanspoon, so by the time we actually went, we had high expectations. Heed my warning, the area is almost all pay-parking, so you will have to park in the neighborhood area about a block or so away. 

 IMG_2785

Look at all the chocolate cake!  *drooooool*

IMG_2784

IMG_2786

 IMG_2789

I seriously could not decide what to get! There were so many options, and they all looked so good. If I had my way, I would eat them all!

IMG_2800

Exotic Cheesecake 3/5 
Light cream cheesecake with passion fruits, mango, and orange zest”. At first taste, it was a little sour. Maybe it is because I have never actually had passion fruit (other than bubble tea) and I don’t know what it really tastes like, but the cake really made my taste buds pop, and in a good way. The cheesecake was rich and very creamy.

IMG_2794

Almond Mascarpone- 3/5
Light mascarpone cream, soft almond cake with amaretto and espresso”.  This is one for all the coffee lovers out there! The espresso is very strong and intense, yet the cake is very fluffy and delicate. I particularly liked the mascarpone, because it was light and creamy. Now I’m not a coffee-drinker so I thought it was too intense for my taste, but the cake and mascarpone evened it out for me.

IMG_2791

Double Baked Almond Croissant- 5/5
This was the highlight of the meal (meal? yeah i think so haha). I absolutely loved this so much that I ended up bringing two home! The croissant was very crispy on the outside, and soft and buttery in the inside. It literally melted on your mouth. This is definitely a must-order!

IMG_2809

Macarons- 3/5
Of course who can resist purchasing some macarons? It was fairly good, and the flavors were evident on the shells and on some fillings. However, I wouldn’t consider them to be my go-to place for macarons. There were some fillings that were kind of bland and just tasted like regular cream.

I think that the next time I go to Thomas Haas, I will try their chocolates, because after all it’s what they are famous for. Overall, the experience was good. I didn’t enjoy the cakes THAT much, but it was still flavorful and good. However, it could just be because the flavors were never my “cup of tea”. I would definitely come here again!

1:Poor 2: Okay 3: Good 4: Great 5: Amazing!
Food: 3.5
Service: —
Ambiance: 4
Price: $5-$10
Overall: 3.5

Leave a Reply

