Hello! & Gami Sushi Restaurant

20150131_192641

Last Visited: January 31, 2015
Address: 10111 Number 3 Road
City: Richmond

Hello, hello! I am back, and ready to continue blogging. I even started using my DSLR for photos, so for all my DSLR friends, I’m totally open to suggestions on better photo-taking. Hopefully, these photos will make you drool even more 🙂

To start up, I’m going to review a place I have been to a few times already. As of date, this may be my favorite sushi place that is delicious AND affordable. They also offer ABURI, which is my new favorite kind of sushi now! Aburi is a kind of Japanese-style cooking in which they sear the food, and let me tell you, it is heavenly.

IMG_4542


Magma Roll ($7.95) 
4.5/5
-crab meat, avocado, cucumber, seared chopped scallop, masago, and assorted sauce
Creamy was the first thing that came to mind when I first bit into this roll. The filling had a “neutral” taste, much like the filling of a california roll. Because of this neutrality, it provided a very good balance of flavours and brought out the flavours of the seared scallop and the sauce.

 IMG_4547

Oh, GAMI! Roll ($13.95) – 5/5
prawn, cucumber, crab meat, seared unagi/salmon/tuna/chopped scallop, avocado, three kinds of tobiko, and assorted sauce
This is, by far, my favourite roll. I get it almost every time I come here, because this roll honestly tastes heavenly! Yes, it is a little on the pricey side, but I promise that it is worth it. The combinations of textures and flavors are immaculate, and it is literally aburi-awesomeness. This is a must-try, because it’s delicious and amazing. That is all I can say.

IMG_4551

Deep-fried California Roll ($4.95) – 3/5
I was never a big fan of california roll, so this wasn’t really appealing to me. However, if you are a lover of california rolls and want to try something new, this is definitely worth checking. Even though I wasn’t a fan, J ordered this because he liked it quite a bit. The sauce complimented each other well, and the crunch was the perfect touch.

IMG_4537

Plain Udon ($4.95) – 3.5/5
I love udon; they are basically my favorite kind of noodles. The udon here has a very good consistency: chewy and tender, and not too soft. The soup was a bit salty though, but nonetheless it was tasty, especially with the spicy pepper powder.

1:Poor 2: Okay 3: Good 4: Great 5: Amazing!

Food: 4
Service: 4
Ambiance: 4
Price: $5 – $15
Overall: 4

Leave a Reply

