L’Opera Pattiserie

 2013-05-31 15.52.31

Last Visited: May 31, 2013
Address: 153-5951 Minoru Blvd
City: Richmond

Ever since this cute little dessert place opened recently, I had been dying to try their macarons and cakes. The urbanspoon rating is also very encouraging, considering the place is new and all. I was seriously down for some macarons!

 2013-05-31 15.29.33

I absolutely love the showcase. It allows people to really look at the desserts up close, as oppose to looking at a picture. Not to mention, the presentation made my mouth water! Just look at those cake in the picture below. I seriously wanted to try ALL of them, but my wallet would probably cry, since they are about $5 each.

 20130531_151354

2013-05-31 15.31.15

 

I really like the decor the store. The Victorian-style wallpaper and the vintage pieces really makes the place elegant.

 

 2013-05-31 15.22.20

Macarons ($2 each)  4.5/5 
Starting from the bottom left and going around clockwise, we have black sesame, green tea, pistachio, L’opera special, and rose raspberry. The macaron shells itself were incredibly light, airy, and fragile, and the filling was just right. The black sesame was J’s favourite, because he likes that it had so much flavour. I don’t particularly like black sesame, but I was surprised at how yummy it was. If you like a strong green tea flavour, then green tea is for you. Personally, I thought the green tea was very strong. Pistachio is one of my all-time favourite, so of course I loved this one. The L’opera special macaron is kind of like mocha-flavoured. It’s chocolate shells with coffee filling, which I also found very strong. The rose raspberry was delicious as well. The rose flavour was distinct in the macaron shell, while the filling is simply cream with a few raspberries.

2013-05-31 15.21.30

Paris ($5.80) – 4/5
This one caught my eye immediately upon looking at the selection. What really prompted me to get this was that there was only one left, so according to my logic, it must be good! And we were not disappointed! Despite its appearance, it is actually a layered dessert. Chocolate cake was at the bottom, some kind of cream cheese center, chocolate mousse, and the dark chocolate ganache. It was delightful! I really loved the cream cheese in the middle, because it balances out with the strong flavour of the dark chocolate.

2013-05-31 15.44.31

Meringues ($0.50) – 3/5
These little treats were something J has never seen before, so it especially caught his eye when he saw it was only 50 cents. They consist of egg whites and sugar. The one on the left was vanilla, and the one on the right is chocolate. To me, they tasted very similar, but I liked how they were extremely light and fluffy. I would opt for the chocolate next time though.

I am extremely glad that I do not have to go all the way downtown to get me some macarons, because these macarons here are just about as good! Definitely my go-to dessert place in Richmond for a while. My goal for the summer: try all the cakes/tarts!

1:Poor 2: Okay 3: Good 4: Great 5: Amazing!
Food: 4
Service: —
Ambiance: 4
Price: Under $10
Overall: 4

One comment

Leave a comment